Becoming Shades

Dark immersive circus: a classic tale re-imagined

Presented by Chivaree Circus and Upstage Creative.

“One by one they were all becoming shades. Better pass boldly into that other world, in the full glory of some passion, than fade and wither dismally with age.”
James Joyce – The Dead

Bringing together live music, aerial acrobatics, fire, dance and mime, Becoming Shades brings you a story of empowerment, love and choices: a re-imagining of the classic myth of Persephone told through contemporary circus.

After a sell-out run at the VAULT last year, don’t miss this award-winning company playing throughout the whole VAULT festival.

Premium Tickets… …will include a “Becoming Shades Cocktail”, a premium Brochure and a CD with the original music from the show (including the main theme track: “Watch The Flowers Die”) composed and produced especially for Becoming Shades.

Theatre
1hr 30m
The Vaults
24 Jan — 18 Mar
£22.50
15+
21:30
Book Now

Dates

Wednesday 24 January Wed 24 Jan 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Thursday 25 January Thu 25 Jan 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Friday 26 January Fri 26 Jan 21:30 Book Now
Saturday 27 January Sat 27 Jan 21:30 Book Now
Sunday 28 January Sun 28 Jan 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Wednesday 31 January Wed 31 Jan 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Thursday 1 February Thu 1 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Friday 2 February Fri 2 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Saturday 3 February Sat 3 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Sunday 4 February Sun 4 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Wednesday 7 February Wed 7 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Thursday 8 February Thu 8 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Friday 9 February Fri 9 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Saturday 10 February Sat 10 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Sunday 11 February Sun 11 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Wednesday 14 February Wed 14 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Thursday 15 February Thu 15 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Friday 16 February Fri 16 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Saturday 17 February Sat 17 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Sunday 18 February Sun 18 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Wednesday 21 February Wed 21 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Thursday 22 February Thu 22 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Friday 23 February Fri 23 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Saturday 24 February Sat 24 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Sunday 25 February Sun 25 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Wednesday 28 February Wed 28 Feb 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Thursday 1 March Thu 1 Mar 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Friday 2 March Fri 2 Mar 21:30 Book Now
Saturday 3 March Sat 3 Mar 21:30 Book Now
Sunday 4 March Sun 4 Mar 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Wednesday 7 March Wed 7 Mar 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Thursday 8 March Thu 8 Mar 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Friday 9 March Fri 9 Mar 21:30 Book Now
Saturday 10 March Sat 10 Mar 21:30 Book Now
Sunday 11 March Sun 11 Mar 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Wednesday 14 March Wed 14 Mar 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Thursday 15 March Thu 15 Mar 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now
Friday 16 March Fri 16 Mar 21:30 Book Now
Saturday 17 March Sat 17 Mar 21:30 Book Now
Sunday 18 March Sun 18 Mar 21:30 Included in 2 for 1 Offer Book Now

About the company

Chivaree Circus

Chivaree are an award winning production company that create fearless and exciting immersive circus journeys. Playing with physical movement, technical ability and aesthetic beauty, they aim to re-imagine stories and create worlds giving agency to characters that upend traditional narratives.

Artistic Team
Producer & Director
Laurane Marchive
Producer & Concept
Edward Gosling
Producer
Ilai Szpiezak
Composer / Sound Designer
Sam West
Lighting Designer
Jessica Hung Han Yung
Cast
Persephone
Rebecca Rennison
Fury / Ceberus
Jessica Pearce
Fury / Cerberus
Rosie Bartley
Fury / Cerberus
Isobel Midnight

Press & Reviews

London Theatre One

★★★★★
“Setting the pace in the London circus scene.”

Run-Riot

★★★★★
"Outrageous skills, strength and creativity" ... “incredibly stylish!”

Last Minute theatre tickets

★★★★
"Astonishing, incredible, utterly sensational... immensely impressive and really inspiring."

Carn's Theatre Passion

★★★★★
"This is very grown up circus"

A Younger Theatre

"Incredible physicality and strength"

Lucy Loves Circus

"Dazzling, mesmerising... exciting, strong and sleek"

This is Cabaret

★★★★
"Magnificent"