Counting Sheep

Presented by Selfconscious Productions & Wild Yak, in association with Hot Feat

★★★★★ Broadway Baby ★★★★★ Ed Fest Magazine ★★★★★ British Theatre Guide ★★★★ Toronto Star

The award-winning (Scotsman Fringe First, Amnesty International Freedom of Expression) theatrical sensation comes to London in a brand new version from the directors of the Belarus Free Theatre.

Based on Mark and Marichka Marczyks' first hand experiences during the 2014 Kiev Uprising, Counting Sheep invites you to lose yourself in the events that changed the course of Ukrainian history forever. Sing, march, protest, dance, eat, help, recoil, fight, laugh, cry. With folk singing, found footage and revolutionary staging this ‘Guerrilla Folk Opera' is an electrifying exploration of human resilience.

This production is a unique artistic collaboration between Mark and Marichka Marczyk, whose lives changed forever while fighting for freedom and love in Maidan Square, and Natalia Kaliada and Nicolai Khalezin, founders of Belarus Free Theatre, whose struggles with the repressive dictatorship in Belarus are well documented. This joint theatrical statement from people who went through real life and death situations makes for an explosive stage experience.

TICKET TYPES: CHOOSE YOUR EXPERIENCE.

Protester (Premium): Take a seat at the high table, right in the heart of the action. This is no ordinary theatre experience and audience members should be prepared to be a part of the action. Ticket includes a light meal and drink. £40 (£30 Previews) - plus £1.50 Booking Fee.

Protester (Regular): Join the revolution. Sing. Dance. Eat. Drink. Protest. This is no ordinary theatre experience and audience members should be prepared to be a part of the action. Ticket includes a snack. £35 (£25 Previews) - plus £1.50 Booking Fee.

Observer: Watch the revolution unfold from the gallery above. Please note this is not an immersive ticket. £25 (£18 Previews) - plus £1.50 Booking Fee.

Theatre & Performance
Varies23 Jan — 17 Mar
Forge - The Vaults, Launcelot Street
Various
£26.50
1hr 30m
15+
InteractiveMusicPolitics
Book Now

Dates

Wednesday 23 January Wed 23 Jan 19:00 Book Now
Thursday 24 January Thu 24 Jan 18:30 Book Now
Thursday 24 January Thu 24 Jan 21:30 Book Now
Friday 25 January Fri 25 Jan 19:00 Book Now
Saturday 26 January Sat 26 Jan 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 26 January Sat 26 Jan 19:00 Book Now
Sunday 27 January Sun 27 Jan 15:00 Book Now
Sunday 27 January Sun 27 Jan 19:00 Book Now
Tuesday 29 January Tue 29 Jan 19:00 Book Now
Wednesday 30 January Wed 30 Jan 19:00 Book Now
Thursday 31 January Thu 31 Jan 18:30 Book Now
Thursday 31 January Thu 31 Jan 21:30 Book Now
Wednesday 6 February Wed 6 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Thursday 7 February Thu 7 Feb 18:30 Book Now
Thursday 7 February Thu 7 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Friday 8 February Fri 8 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Saturday 9 February Sat 9 Feb 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 9 February Sat 9 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Sunday 10 February Sun 10 Feb 15:00 Book Now
Sunday 10 February Sun 10 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Wednesday 13 February Wed 13 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Thursday 14 February Thu 14 Feb 18:30 Book Now
Thursday 14 February Thu 14 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Friday 15 February Fri 15 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Saturday 16 February Sat 16 Feb 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 16 February Sat 16 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Sunday 17 February Sun 17 Feb 15:00 Book Now
Sunday 17 February Sun 17 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Wednesday 20 February Wed 20 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Thursday 21 February Thu 21 Feb 18:30 Book Now
Thursday 21 February Thu 21 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Friday 22 February Fri 22 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Saturday 23 February Sat 23 Feb 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 23 February Sat 23 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Sunday 24 February Sun 24 Feb 15:00 Book Now
Sunday 24 February Sun 24 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Wednesday 27 February Wed 27 Feb 19:00 Book Now
Thursday 28 February Thu 28 Feb 18:30 Book Now
Thursday 28 February Thu 28 Feb 21:30 Book Now
Friday 1 March Fri 1 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Saturday 2 March Sat 2 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 2 March Sat 2 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Sunday 3 March Sun 3 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Sunday 3 March Sun 3 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Wednesday 6 March Wed 6 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Thursday 7 March Thu 7 Mar 18:30 Book Now
Thursday 7 March Thu 7 Mar 21:30 Book Now
Friday 8 March Fri 8 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Saturday 9 March Sat 9 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 9 March Sat 9 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Sunday 10 March Sun 10 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Sunday 10 March Sun 10 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Wednesday 13 March Wed 13 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Thursday 14 March Thu 14 Mar 18:30 Book Now
Thursday 14 March Thu 14 Mar 21:30 Book Now
Friday 15 March Fri 15 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Saturday 16 March Sat 16 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 16 March Sat 16 Mar 19:00 Book Now
Sunday 17 March Sun 17 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Sunday 17 March Sun 17 Mar 19:00 Book Now

About the company

Selfconscious Productions & Wild Yak, in association with Hot Feat

Mark and Marichka Marczyk met and fell in love on Independence Square in Kyiv at the height of the Revolution of Dignity. They have travelled across Ukraine volunteering, performing for soldiers and DPs, and writing about their experiences (Brick Literary Magazine, Humber Literary Review, Now Magazine, Carte Blanche). Together they perform around the world with their electro-folk project Balaklava Blues and the infamous balkan-klezmer-gypsy-party-punk-super-band, Lemon Bucket Orkestra.

Natalia Kaliada and Nicolai Khalezin are the founders and artistic directors of Belarus Free Theatre. The Belarus Free Theatre (BFT) is an award-winning theatre company founded in 2005 in Minsk under Europe's last surviving dictatorship. Its existence is illegal in a country where only state-sanctioned theatre is permitted. Since 2011, BFT has been based between Minsk and London where founding members, husband and wife team Natalia Kaliada and Nicolai Khalezin, are political refugees in the UK. Described by The New York Times as, “one of the bravest and most inspired underground troupes on the planet”, BFT has brought audiences some of the world's most provocative theatre across the globe. BFT is an associate company of the Young Vic.

Credits

CAST

MARK MARCZYK
MARICHKA MARCZYK
HANNA ARKIPCHUK
VOLODYMYR BEDZVIN
SIARHEI KVACHONAK
MASHA SAZONAVA
KIRYL KALBASNIKAU
GEORGINA BEATY
MICHAEL EDWARDS

CREATIVE & PRODUCTION TEAM

Created and written by: Mark and Marichka Marczyk
Directors and co-writers: Natalia Kaliada and Nicolai Khalezin
Music by: Balaklava Blues
Designer: Nicolai Hart-Hansen
Choreographic & Rehearsal Director: Bridget Fiske
Co-Choreographer: Masha Sazonova
Lighting & Video Designer: Josh Pharo
Sound Designer: Dan Balfour
Associate Lighting / Video Designer: Sarah Readman
Associate Video Designer: Roman Lubiy
Production Manager: Alex Firth
Company Stage Manager: Jacqueline Julnes
Assistant Stage Manager: Chloe Astleford
Translation: Maria Bialkovich, Daniella Kaliada, Maria Khalezina
Press & Marketing: Target Live
Production Accountant: Ramin Sabi
Producers: Michael Rubenfeld for Selfconscious Productions & Oliver King for Wild Yak, in association with Hot Feat
General Management: Wild Yak

Press & Reviews

★★★★★ “A theatrical triumph” / "Everything theatre should be and more - everyone, everywhere should see it” - Broadway Baby

“As close as one could get to experiencing a revolution without actually putting your life on the line” - Torontoist

★★★★★ Ed Fest Magazine - “A theatre adventure that really gets under your skin"

★★★★★ British Theatre Guide

★★★★ “Alarming, Joyous and Thought-Provoking” - Toronto Star